Simple Everyday Mom

Making Everyday Count

Boston bombings, Fertilizer plant, and what they remind me to do

on April 21, 2013

This past week has been full of horrible tragedies. Sometimes it’s hard to know just how to deal with these appropriately. I think about my boys, if they were old enough to understand what was going on, how would I talk to them about it? As of right now I am able to just make sure I don’t have the news on while they are around, and I don’t have to worry about them seeing anything that might traumatize them. But how would that conversation go? I don’t really have the answers right now.

Even though I don’t have the answer for when my boys are older, I have been reminded of what I can do right now. I am sure by now that many people have been reminded of the Mr. Rogers quote “When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, Look for the helpers, you will always find people helping.” Whether on facebook or in the news, and it really is a light in the darkness of all the negativity of the news. It has reminded me not only to look for the helpers, but to apply this principle to my life. How can I be a helper, in everyday life? How can I teach my boys to be helpers too? I want my boys and I to be so engrained with the helping mentality that if we are ever in the situation of a tragedy (which I hope we aren’t) we will be those helpers others look for. Not to be seen but to give hope to those around us that there are still good people out there. That people exist with compassion and a love for other people.

I have thought about this concept a lot, how to become that helper, how to teach it, and I have come up with this. We have to start small, we have to actively search out opportunities and we have to look everyday. We cannot have the desire to be seen, but to remain in the background and do it for a love for others. That is how we can become engrained with the helping mentality and I hope if the time ever comes we don’t have to think twice about it.

What have you done that has helped others, or what have others done to help you? I would love to hear from you and get ideas on what has made an impact on you.

Leave a Reply

