Simple Everyday Mom

Making Everyday Count

Hard Times Can Teach Good Lessons

on May 8, 2013

The last 3 weeks I have spent the majority of my time on the couch. I didn’t do this for fun may I add I was healing from my recent hernia surgery.  My follow up appointment was today and I got clearance to be able to pick up my boys again. There is no words to describe the feeling of being able to hold my boys in my arms again. 

I would have never guessed that I could go that long without holding my children, but I knew that if I did I would reinjure myself and have to start the process over again. I refrained and fortunately I had a support team around me that made it possible for me to take the time I needed to heal. This ordeal made me realize two things. 

First, we never know how much we can overcome until we are forced to be in that situation.  It is so easy to take for granted the everyday interactions and I didn’t realize I would be in this situation. Though my surgery was an outpatient surgery and some would consider it extremely minor, my heart broke just the same as my boys just needed their Mama and I couldn’t give hold them. It forced me to find new ways to interact with them, new ways to console them, and news ways to feel special. It really taught me alot about how to expand my mind when I am healthy. Sometimes I get stuck in a rut of doing the same thing and now I know new approaches to support my boys. I am not glad I went through this, but I am glad for what I learned from it.

The second thing I am grateful for is the support I had. Without my husband, mother, and mother-in-law I never would have made it through. Well I wouldn’t have made it through healed anyways. It’s incredible to see the outpouring of friends as well when you are going through tough times. I am so grateful for them as well. 

We all go through things that make us stronger on the other side. What have you learned through the tough situations?

Leave a Reply

