Simple Everyday Mom

Making Everyday Count

A few ideas to help make the most of your family time

on May 14, 2013

My baby boy is teething and needs his Momma whenever I am available, night or day. My 2 1/2 year old has a thirst for knowledge that sometimes seems unquenchable. Whether it’s music, letters, numbers, or working on new words, he has a strong desire to learn anything I will teach.  Last, but not least,  my husband. He is ambitious for everything life has to offer.  He not only works 50-60 hours a week, but is training for the STP (Seattle to Portland bike ride) and working on getting a bachelor’s degree.

The one thing I can count on when it comes to my schedule is inconsistency.  While at times it has been a big struggle I have learned a few things to help me get through it.  I have had to use my imagination to make time, but it has worked out very well. The three most notable things I have found are the following:

1. Embrace my husband’s busy schedule

For a long time I struggled with my husband’s schedule. He works odd hours and when he isn’t working he has another goal he is working towards. I have always supported his goals and ambitions, but that doesn’t always make the time away easy.  The struggle for me was the long hours he works, not to mention the commute is an hour each way. So I decided to find a way to make more quality time with him.

I joined the gym a few months ago and was looking for ways to build my endurance. The gal I met with suggested a spin class. I don’t personally do a lot of bicycle riding, in fact I don’t even own a bicycle., but I saw the opportunity and snagged it.  I invited my husband to do it with me and he agreed to try it. He didn’t have much interest because he really didn’t think it would be difficult since he rides so much. He was wrong :), but that’s topic is for another day. Ever since then we have a standing date Monday mornings that we go to spin class together, not only does he get some training in, but we have quality time together.

2.Invite my toddler to be a part of my routines

I swear my toddler does more housework than any other kid I know. (ok I could be biased but it’s alot). He enjoys every minute of it. He helps me load the dishwasher (when I used it), starts the dishwasher, washer, and dryer, picks up his toys, helps me vacuum, sets the table, cleans his plate and many other chores.  One thing I have started doing is working with him in the kitchen. I recently started making mason jar salads. I get everything prepped when he is napping and when he wakes up I show him how to put the ingredients in the jar.

What I love about this is he is not only learning basic responsibilities, but we get to have fun together. Instead of trying to do it all and finding time to be with the kids, I combine them and get the best of both worlds.

3. LET GO!

My baby boy got his first tooth last week and now is teething again. I can see little white spots on the other bottom tooth and on both of his upper teeth. I had no idea he was teething with his first tooth because he never showed it, however with three coming in at one time his need for his Momma has greatly increased.  I have struggled with truly letting go of the other things that need to be done, but once i did I realized how freeing it was. I will get the housework done eventually, and I attack it everyday (I am a bit behind since my surgery, so this is especially hard right now). I know that this time won’t last forever, they won’t remember the housework I did, but they will remember the times I spend with them.  So I don’t get upset when they interrupt my cleaning or need to play when I have a million things to do. I remember that in just a few short years my house will be clean, but this time will never be here again.

I am a person who likes to have a routine and stick to it, but I have let that go for now and focus on the things that are more important. My schedule works some times and other times it doesn’t, but I am glad I have found more ways to mesh my family time with my time I need for everything else.

What things do you do to help make the most of your time?

Leave a Reply

